Belgian Colonial Biography / Belgian Overseas Biography

Parts 1 through 8 of the ‘Belgian Colonial Biography’ / ‘Belgian Overseas Biography’ (published between 1948 and 1998) together contain some 5,500 entries on Belgians who played an important role overseas, or of non-Belgians who were involved in overseas activities by Belgians. The last part, volume 9, will appear in 2011 and will contain approximately 120 biographical notes.

The Royal Academy for Overseas Sciences decided not to continue that publication but to replace it by a new research tool, the ‘Biographical Dictionary of Overseas Belgians’. This reference work will be more interactive; the entries will be made available online once approved by the Belgian Overseas Biography Commission, without incurring the long delays due to the paper publication. The Academy considered that the contents of many entries no longer were in accordance with the current state of scientific research and that the work thus needed renewal. Many persons who had already been covered in the old reference work will therefore be given a new entry in the new biographical dictionary.

The contents of the old biographical series can be consulted in two different ways: you can browse through each volume individually (and can look up any word in the full text of any volume); or you can immediately find a particular individual using the search engine or the alphabetical list.  The alphabetical list also provides a complete overview of all entries.

Biographie Coloniale Belge / Biographie Belge d’Outre-Mer

Les tomes 1 à 8 de la Biographie Coloniale Belge / Biographie Belge d’Outre-Mer, publiés entre 1948 et 1998, comptent au total environ 5 500 notices sur des Belges qui ont joué un rôle éminent outre-mer ou sur des personnages non belges qui ont participé aux activités d’outre-mer de la Belgique. Le dernier volume (T. 9), qui sera publié en 2011, comportera environ 120 notices.

L’Académie Royale des Sciences d'Outre-Mer a décidé de ne plus poursuivre cette série et de la remplacer par un nouvel outil de recherche, le Dictionnaire Biographique des Belges d’Outre-Mer. Cet outil sera plus souple, plus interactif, ses notices pourront être consultées par voie électronique dès leur rédaction définitive sans devoir attendre les longs délais qu’implique une édition papier, tome par tome. L’Académie Royale des Sciences d'Outre-Mer a considéré aussi que le contenu de nombreuses notices de la série clôturée ne répondait plus à l’état actuel de la recherche scientifique et que celles-ci devaient par conséquent être remaniées. Un certain nombre de personnages figurant dans les volumes publiés feront ainsi l’objet d’une nouvelle notice dans le nouveau dictionnaire biographique.

Vous avez accès au contenu des 8 premiers tomes de la Biographie Coloniale Belge / Biographie Belge d’Outre-Mer en feuilletant chaque volume séparément (en ayant de plus la possibilité d’effectuer une recherche full text sur la totalité du texte de l’ouvrage concerné). Les notices du tome 9 n'ont pas encore fait l'objet d'une publication et peuvent etre consultées séparément.