Prize for Port Studies General Manager Fernand Suykens

Text laid down by the Administrative Commission during its session of 18 March 1992 and modified during its sessions of 23 March, 28 September 1994, 30 March 2001, 17 March 2005, 25 September 2013, 25 March 2015 and 28 September 2016.

  1. On the occasion of the accession of Fernand Suykens, former President of the Academy, to the title of General Manager emeritus, the Royal Academy for Overseas Sciences has established a Fund for Port Studies in order to promote studies on seaports and maritime transport in overseas countries.
  2. The Fund has been constituted by an initial capital resulting from donations to the Academy for this purpose. It will be increased by the interest which the capital will yield, and by further donations and legacies made to the Academy in order to enlarge the Fund.
  3. The Fund is managed by the Administrative Commission of the Academy under a specific accounts entry.
  4. The Fund has been established in order to award a prize named "General Manager Fernand Suykens Prize for Port Studies" to the author of a memoir of high scientific value, which is unpublished or has been published for less than three years, written in English, French or Dutch, on a subject related to port economy, management, techniques or maritime transport in general, and applicable to overseas countries in particular. 
  5. The prize amounts to 2,500 EUR. It will be awarded every three years and for the first time in 1995. The Administrative Commission can modify the amount and the frequency of the prize.
  6. Memoirs submitted should be sent to the Academy’s secretariat before 1 February of the year in which the Prize is awarded: five paper copies and one electronic version. For overseas candidates (developing and emerging countries) three paper copies and one electronic document will do. Candidates will append to their application a summary of 1,200 words maximum, a curriculum vitae and a covering letter.
  7. The prize is awarded by the Section of Technical Sciences, on the proposal of an ad hoc Committee.

    This Committee consists of:

    1. The Permanent Secretary, who is in charge of the secretarial work;
    2. Two members appointed by the Section of Technical Sciences, among the fellows, honorary fellows, associates and honorary associates of the Academy, during its session held in the month of February following the submission of memoirs.
    3. The General Manager of the Port of Antwerp;
    4. The professor or lecturer in charge of the course "Zeehavens" at the University of Antwerp.
  8. The report of the ad hoc committee is transmitted to the Section of Technical Sciences before 1 May following the nomination of the above committee.
  9. No correspondence will be exchanged concerning the committee’s deliberation.
  10. The Section of Technical Sciences will nominate the winner during its June session. This nomination will result from a vote by a show of hands by the fellows, honorary fellows, associates and honorary associates present. To be appointed, the candidate should obtain an absolute majority. If no candidate obtains such a majority after three rounds, the prize will not be awarded ant the amount intended for this award will remain part of the Fund.
  11. The author(s) of the prizewinning memoir will be conferred the title of "Winner of the General Manager Fernand Suykens Prize for Port Studies" of the Royal Academy for Overseas Sciences.
  12. The Academy may consider publishing the prizewinning memoir if it has not been published published.
  13. In case the Fund’s assets were no longer sufficient to award a substantial prize, the Administrative Commission might decide either to integrate the balance of the Fund into the Academy’s general assets, or to merge the prize with another prize awarded by the Section of Technical Sciences.

     

09-06-2017

Prix pour les Etudes portuaires Directeur général Fernand Suykens

Texte arrêté par la Commission administrative en sa séance du 18 mars 1992 et amendé en sa séance du 23 mars 1994, du 28 septembre 1994, du 30 mars 2001, du 17 mars 2005, du 25 septembre 2013, du 25 mars 2015 et du 28 septembre 2016.

  1. En vue de promouvoir les études sur les ports maritimes dans les pays d’outre-mer, l'Académie Royale des Sciences d'Outre-Mer crée en son sein, à l'occasion du passage à l'éméritat du Directeur général Fernand Suykens, ancien Président de l'Académie, un Fonds pour les études portuaires et le transport maritime. 

  2. Le Fonds est constitué par un capital initial représenté par des libéralités faites à cette fin à l'Académie. Il sera augmenté des intérêts que rapportera son capital, ainsi que des dons et legs éventuels faits à l'Académie en vue de l'accroissement dudit Fonds.
     
  3. Le Fonds est géré par la Commission administrative de l'Académie qui en tient une comptabilité distincte.
     
  4. Le Fonds est constitué en vue de récompenser par un prix dit «Prix pour les Etudes portuaires Directeur général Fernand Suykens», l'auteur d'un mémoire de haute valeur scientifique, inédit ou publié depuis moins de trois ans, rédigé en français, en néerlandais ou en anglais, sur un sujet relevant de l'économie, de la gestion, de la technique portuaire ou du transport maritime en général, mais s’appliquant aux pays d’outre-mer.
     
  5. Le montant du Prix est fixé à 2 500 EUR. Il sera attribué tous les trois ans et pour la première fois en 1995. La Commission administrative peut modifier le montant et la périodicité du Prix.
     
  6. Les mémoires présentés devront parvenir au secrétariat de l'Académie avant le 1er février de l'année où le prix est attribué: cinq documents papier et une version électronique. Pour les candidats des pays outre-mer (pays en développement et pays émergents) trois exemplaires papier et un document électronique suffisent. Les candidats annexeront à leur demande un résumé de maximum 1 200 mots, un curriculum vitae et une lettre de motivation.
  7. Le Prix est attribué par la Classe des Sciences techniques, sur proposition d'une Commission ad hoc.

    Celle-ci est constituée:

    1. Du Secrétaire perpétuel, qui en assure le secrétariat;
    2. De deux membres désignés par la Classe des Sciences techniques, en sa séance tenue au mois de février qui suit le dépôt des mémoires, parmi les membres titulaires, titulaires honoraires, associés et associés honoraires de l'Académie;
    3. Du Directeur général du Port d'Anvers;
    4. Du professeur ou chargé de cours assurant l'enseignement «Zeehavens» à la «Universiteit Antwerpen».
  8. Le rapport de la Commission ad hoc est communiqué à la Classe des Sciences techniques avant le 1er mai suivant la constitution de ladite Commission.

  9. Aucune correspondance ne sera échangée concernant les délibérations de la Commission.

  10. La Classe des Sciences techniques désigne le lauréat en sa séance de mai. Cette désignation résultera d'un vote à main levée des membres titulaires et titulaires honoraires, associés et associés honoraires présents. Pour être désigné, un candidat devra obtenir la majorité absolue des voix. Si aucun candidat n'obtient une telle majorité après trois tours de scrutin, le Prix n'est pas attribué et le montant réservé à son octroi reste acquis au Fonds.

  11. Le ou les auteurs de l'ouvrage couronné prendront le titre de «Lauréat du Prix pour les Etudes portuaires Directeur général Fernand Suykens» de l'Académie Royale des Sciences d'Outre-Mer.

  12. L'Académie pourra envisager la publication par ses soins du mémoire couronné et non encore publié. 
     
  13. Au cas où les avoirs du Fonds ne suffiraient plus à décerner un prix d'un montant appréciable, la Commission administrative pourra décider soit d'en intégrer le solde au patrimoine de l’Académie, soit de le fusionner avec un autre prix attribué par la Classe des Sciences techniques.

09-06-2017